Homepage  >  Events  >  Georg von Holtzbrinck Prize for Science Journalism

The Georg von Holtzbrinck Prize for Science Journalism was instituted by the Georg von Holtzbrinck publishing group in 1995 to mark the 150th anniversary of the founding of Scientific American, one of the oldest science journals in the world. The prize is awarded annually and pays tribute to outstanding articles in the field of science journalism in Germany.

The award recognizes three categories – print, electronic media and since 2012 young talents – one prize is given to each category. Each prize is a cash prize to the value of 10,000 Euro for the categories print and electronic media and the value of 5,000 Euro for young talents.

The Laureates 2020

The laureates of the year 2020 are Eva Wolfangel, freelance journalist in the category print and NDR-Team Norbert Grundei, Korinna Hennig, Katharina Mahrenholtz, Anja Martini together with virologist Prof. Christian Drosten in the category electronic media for their Corona-update podcast. Producer and freelance journalist Cedric Engels and his YouTube-channel Dr. Whatson has been honoured as young talent.

Georg von Holtzbrinck Prize for Science Journalism


  • Dr. Stefan von Holtzbrinck (Chairman), chairman of the executive board, Holtzbrinck Publishing Group
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner, chairman of the board of managing directors, Boehringer Ingelheim GmbH
  • Prof. Dr. Katja Becker, president, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft e.V. (German Research Foundation)
  • Ulrich Blumenthal, editor "Forschung aktuell", Deutschlandfunk
  • Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius, director, Alfred-Wegener-Institute, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar-und Meeresforschung
  • Prof. Dr. Martina Brockmeier, former chair of the German Council of Science and Humanities
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Kleiner, president, Leibniz-Gemeinschaft e. V.
  • Prof. Dr. Carsten Könneker, member of the management board, Klaus Tschira Stiftung gGmbH
  • Joachim Müller-Jung, managing editor Nature and Science, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
  • Andreas Sentker, managing editor and editor-in-chief Wissen, DIE ZEIT and editor ZEIT Wissen
  • Ranga Yogeshwar, science publicist and moderator for science programmes, ARD


Application period 2020
from February until 1 April 2020

Award Ceremony
autumn 2020 in Berlin


    Torstraße 42
    10119 Berlin
    Friederike Busch

    +49 (30) 27 87 18-0


    +49 (30) 27 87 18-18
    Veranstaltungsforum Holtzbrinck auf Facebook